Skip to content

Welcome to Ballarat!

5B’s fantastic research, design and hard-work has culminated in an incredible life-like representation of the Ballarat diggings in the 1850s. We are all proud of what we have been able to produce, and how well we have worked with our partners, and with our collective class team.

We have also worked to program a Sphero robot to take a guided tour of main street and the diggings. Here’s an example of what we’ve been able to achieve!

Can you name any of the landmarks in our diorama?

Can you recognise any Ballarat 1850s buildings?

Published inUncategorized

12 Comments

  1. Miss Dube

    The Year 5 students should feel really proud of everything that they have done in the Integration Gold Rush unit. I have witnessed many successes.
    The best things that I have seen include:
    * Students displaying Carey PLAs, especially collaboration, curiosity, knowledge etc.
    *Fantastic Dioramas
    * Programming robots (your technological minds blow me away!)
    *Excellent Newspaper articles

    It is so great that we can share our unit of work with our parents at open afternoon and in blogs. I am honoured to have been involved.
    Keep up the great work 5B.
    Miss Dube

  2. gracecbgs

    Hi Mr B,

    I have really enjoyed the making of the dioramas. They are looking amazing now! It truly looks like Ballarat Sovereign Hill 1850s. I can definitely name some of the landmarks. And I can recognise some of the buildings. Great post!

    Grace

    • dylanbenwell dylanbenwell

      We all should be very proud of our efforts. Didn’t even mention the terrific newspapers on the wall as well!

  3. leilacbgs

    Hi Mr Benwell
    I love how the diorama came along. I am also really proud of our efforts and the newspapers are amazing.
    I can name all the buildings in the diorama and I can name nearly all the landmarks as well.
    Awesome post!
    Leila

  4. kobecbgs

    Hey 5B,
    Nice post! I can recognise most buildings in Sovereign Hill but I can mostly recognise the Buildings and Undertakers because of how much me and grace work on it! One of the landmarks is the Eureka Stockade Flag.
    From Kobe

  5. patrickcbgs

    Hi Mr Benwell,
    I had a really great time with my Dillon my diorama partner making the Gold Office and helping to make the eureka stockade. It was so cool be wise after a few weeks of making suddenly when people started to put their buildings down on the boards it looked amazing. After going to sovereign hill for camp there was such small difference between the Ballarat gold rush and our dioramas. People put incredible detail and I am so proud. I can probably name most of the building on the diorama like; Red Hill National School, the saddlery, the criterion store, the tailor, the tent makers, the undertakers, the blacksmith, the eureka hotel, the hotel stables, the gold office, the apothecaries hall and the confectionery store. Then there are all of the places on the diggings like; the eureka stockade, the poppet head, the Waterloo store, the Chinese camps and all of the tents and mines. I had an amazing time help make the dioramas and would love to do I again.

    Kind Regards, Patrick.

  6. ananyacbgs

    Hi Mr B,
    I love your blog post because you used discriptions intro and media.
    I love making the dioramas and I can see the eureaka stockade the popit head and the main street.
    With the buildings I can see the saddlery the under takers and lots more.
    My favourite Building is the saddlery. What is yours?
    Ananya

  7. sarahmcbgs

    Hi Mr Benwell,
    I’m really proud of this diorama. I can name some landmarks on the diorama, such as main street and the Eureka Stockade.I recognise the tent makers and the bowling alley.
    From Sarah

  8. dilloncbgs

    Hi Mr Benwel,
    I have really enjoyed the diorama, I loved making the gold Offices and I would like to congratulate Pat for being an Amazing diorama partner. It actually looks spectacular.
    From Dillon

  9. harveycbgs

    Hi Mr B!

    I sure had lots of fun making the diorama. I think I can name all 13 buildings.
    1: Red Hill School
    2: Saddlery
    3: Hope Bakery
    4:Tailor
    5: Criterion Store
    6: Tent Makers
    7:Black Smith
    8:Undertakers
    9:Wesleyan Church
    10:Eureka Hotel
    11:Gold Office
    12:Confectionery store
    13:Apothecarys Hall

    Boom, see if you can do better(.; ( not an emoji). Let’s see if we get 50 comments!!

    Harvey

  10. harveycbgs

    Hi Mr B!

    I sure had lots of fun making the diorama. I think I can name all 13 buildings.
    1: Red Hill School
    2: Saddlery
    3: Hope Bakery
    4:Tailor
    5: Criterion Store
    6: Tent Makers
    7:Black Smith
    8:Undertakers
    9:Wesleyan Church
    10:Eureka Hotel
    11:Gold Office
    12:Confectionery store
    13:Apothecarys Hall

    Boom, see if you can do better(.; ( not an emoji). Let’s see if we get 500 comments!!

    Harvey

  11. hannahccbgs

    Wow 5B, we all should be so proud of ourselves we have the best diorama. We all put so much work and it payed of. We all made so much buildings.
    GO 5B
    Hannah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar